#illustration, #life, #photodump, Crafts, Scripture, Uncategorized

{ A Resurrection }

Well . . .

Hi there!

It has . . . really been a bit.

Like, a 2-year-long bit. :\

My sincerest apologies . . . . . . there have been a whirlwind of events that have taken place!

For a blitz-style recap, in 2022 . . . >>

  • I illustrated 2 children’s stories for other authors ( and saw them published)
  • I completed ALL of my art (10-13 pieces per class) needed for my last 8 art classes for my BA of Art in Art from TESU
  • I nannied full time for 2 years (a toddler and then along came his preemie sister, and I continued until she was around 8 or nine months old)
Cuties ❤ Preemie & toddler hugs are the BEST!! ❤
  • I underwent some major health issues and became severely underweight (to the point where I nearly (and probably *should’ve been* ) hospitalized; I nearly died a few times– it was quite scary) . . . it took me around a full year+ to fully recover from that. I have lots of scars, but the Lord has been so faithful . . . I am fully restored health-wise, although I still am dealing with chronic inflammation & chronic fatigue from all of that.
Super sick . . .

months later . . . still super sick 😦

Recovered ❤ PTL ❤
  • I taught myself (and fell totally IN LOVE with) . . . bookbinding!! Of All things lol! SO much fun ❤ ❤ ❤ Another new hobby to add in with all the others I’m struggling to keep up with LOL! ❤ 😉
  • I also was dating for a little over a year . . . and eventually came to the realization that my then boyfriend (although he was Super sweet and his family was/is incredible ❤ ) did Not share my love for Christ, ultimately . . . it was difficult to connect spiritually at all. That in itself was the foremost reason for me eventually calling it off at the beginning of 2023. Waiting on God to bring “the one” is challenging, but I’d rather wait for someone who’s actively loving and living for the Lord than settle for someone who could care less about following our Savior. ❤ Tough decisions, y’all. ❤

In 2023 . . . >>>

  • In addition to being a part time children’s book illustrator, I trained and became a full time cake decorator (think 40-50 hours per week, 8-10 hr shifts, up at 3-4 am most mornings and getting off work at around 3-4 pm…very stressful, but lots of learning and good stuff). I became the cake decorator for one location of a small bakery chain (as well as its baked goods manager) and therefore had little time or energy for anything else. which means illustration and college work took a back burner so I could focus on earning income for those classes. I gleaned a HECK of knowledge and experience, have since expanded my artistic repertoire, and learned so much. I have so many opportunities to be a witness for Jesus Christ, and have connected with more believing friends. I am SO thankful. Soli Deo Gloria ❤ I just recently pulled back to work part time to focus on those last couple college classes! *DRUMROLL* ❤ ❤
  • We just unexpectedly lost my Mom’s last living parent, my widowed Granddad. ❤ Lots of crazy emotions going on still. Grieving is an incredibly challenging thing to wrestle with. Or wrestle through. it’s raw, messy, frustrating, confusing . . . but this is not the first time we’ve dealt with it as a family, and the Lord has been an ANCHOR ❤ We’re still sorting through the aftermath of all of that . . . so prayers would be greatly appreciate ❤ ❤ ❤
Us kids with him back in 2007 or 2008 🙂
My late Grandmother & Granddaddy, circa 2014 or 2015 ❤
  • I’ve been given the opportunity to cater/do giant 3-tier wedding cakes for two weddings now! Just recently did the first one (pictures to come later ❤ ), and have another one this weekend (prepping for that currently). I’ve also gotten to do large cupcake orders for our church’s wedding shower/baby shower events. So thrilled and fulfilling to get to be a blessing and use the things God’s giving me for others!! ❤
  • College on the horizon . . . (finishing it lol) ❤
  • And three book projects in the works!! Working on all of them currently and doing LOTS of planning and strategizing. Picking up my paints and doodling again after having almost *solely* used a piping bag and a cake knife for over a year is a bit of a challenge LOL, but it’s coming back bit by bit . . . I know it’s swimming around there somewhere inside of me haha. ❤ 😉

So! Phew . . . lots of stuff to cover, not much space, few words, many words . . .

I hope you get the gist 😉

I’ve really missed chronicling my artistic endeavors and bits and pieces that the Lord shows me. I’m going to try to recommit to posting here on a semi-regular basis. ❤

So. LOTS of posts to come! 😀 ❤ Stay tuned . . .

Much love . . .

Callie M ❤

P.S. . . . Here’s a tidbit to munch on up there in your cranium ❤

Leave a comment